Understanding and Unlocking the Seven Chakras
Browse articles:
Auto Beauty Business Culture Dieting DIY Events Fashion Finance Food Freelancing Gardening Health Hobbies Home Internet Jobs Law Local Media Men's Health Mobile Nutrition Parenting Pets Pregnancy Products Psychology Real Estate Relationships Science Seniors Sports Technology Travel Wellness Women's Health
Browse companies:
Automotive Crafts, Hobbies & Gifts Department Stores Electronics & Wearables Fashion Food & Drink Health & Beauty Home & Garden Online Services & Software Sports & Outdoors Subscription Boxes Toys, Kids & Baby Travel & Events

Understanding and Unlocking the Seven Chakras

The practice of balancing an individual’s chakra has been exercised for thousands of years and is commonly practiced currently through yogic and tantric meditations. To balance one’s chakra means to align the mental, spiritual, and physical frequencies within the body in order to achieve continuous spiritual enlightenment, harmony, and peace of mind.

Chakra, which is the ancient Sanskrit word for ‘wheel’, is defined as the seven energy centers or points located within the human body.  These seven points transmit energy as well as consciousness from one frequency to another in a spiraling fashion throughout the body if properly balanced and aligned.  The seven centers are also associated with sound, light, and color and can be harmonized with one another through meditation in order to help an individual achieve a peaceful and enlightened state of mind.  The most common forms of balancing an individual’s chakra are practiced through tantric and yogic exercises. 

The Crown Chakra, also called Sahasrara, is said to be located near or around the pituitary gland and to have a key role with the physical basis of consciousness.  Sahasrara is the ancient Sanskrit word for “1000 petal lotus” and is considered to be the chakra that represents pure consciousness which neither object nor subject exists. 

The Brow Chakra, also referred to as Ajna, is linked to the pineal gland and represents the ‘third eye’.  The third eye corresponds to the colors violet, indigo, and deep blue and is said to help an individual achieve access to intuition, mental clarity, and inner guidance. 

The Throat Chakra, Vishuddha in Sanskrit, is said to correlate with communication and spiritual security.  It is said that this chakra physically governs communication, emotionally governs independence and mentally governs fluent thought. 

The Heart Chakra, Anahata in Sanskrit, is considered to be extremely important as this chakra corresponds with compassion, complex emotions, unconditional love, rejection, well being, and tenderness.  It is also said that if properly balanced and aligned this chakra can help boost an individual’s immune system, self esteem, and help to deter stress.  The Heart Chakra emotionally governs unconditional love for others, mentally governs passion, and spiritually governs devotion to friends, loved ones, and family. 

Manipura, the Solar Plexus Chakra, plays a very important factor in the role of digestion or the transition of food from sustenance into energy.  Although this chakra primarily relates to digestion physically, emotionally this chakra governs personal power, anxiety, fear, and feelings regarding the formation of opinions. 

Swadhisthana, also known as the Sacral Chakra, is said to be located near the genitalia of both men and women.  This chakra plays an important role in the physical process of reproduction as well as with the sexual hormones produced by both genders.  Emotionally this chakra governs issues such as relationships, emotional needs, pleasure, addiction, and violence.  Spiritually the Sacral Chakra governs enthusiasm and mentally this chakra governs creativity. 

Muladhara, commonly referred to as the Root Chakra, is considered to be the base of the seven chakras but certainly not the last.  This chakra is located at the base of the spine and is related to security, instinct, human potential, and survival.  The Root Chakra physically governs sexuality but mentally, emotionally, and spiritually this chakra deals with issues such as stability, sensuality, and security.  If properly balanced the Root Chakra can help an individual in times of ‘fight or flight’ if their survival is under threat.       


Chakra Balancing Healing.” By Reiki for Holistic Health

Additional resources:

Need an answer?
Get insightful answers from community-recommended
in Religion & Spirituality on Knoji.
Would you recommend this author as an expert in Religion & Spirituality?
You have 0 recommendations remaining to grant today.
Comments (0)